jump to navigation

Waiting for Baby Jesus and Baby Henry December 22, 2011

Posted by mjhoward in Babies, Spiritual Formation, Thoughts.
trackback

This time of advent is a time for waiting, waiting for wonderful miracles, waiting for the Son of God to be born.  Being pregnant during advent really brings this idea of waiting into an interesting light.  I am eagerly awaiting Christmas, the time we celebrate the birth of Jesus, but I’m also eagerly awaiting the birth of another life — that of my son.

I find it curious that Christmas is more celebrated than Easter (though the cynic in me feels that it is probably because we have attached Christmas to materialism and things).  Easter is the holiday where we celebrate the fact that Jesus finished the work he came to do, the work that changed the world.  But I also think there is good reason for Christmas to be the “bigger” holiday.  It is the holiday of mystery and wonder.  The holiday where we celebrate not what Jesus has done, but the holiday where we celebrate hope for what he could do.  The baby Jesus is not a symbol of accomplishment, but a symbol of potential, and potential holds a great mystery.

I very much identify with this mystery because I find myself wondering what Henry will look like, whose personality quirks he’ll get, and what kind of man he will grow up to be.  I have high hopes for him, and am honored that I will get to watch this little person grow, this mystery unfold before me.

But at this time of wonder, I also feel a tinge of sadness for all those whose mystery has ended.  The little girl Ted and I sponsor at the Village of Hope died on Sunday night.  Her name was Elizabeth, and she was seven.  I met her when she was about five and wanted to be held and carried constantly.  I wonder if she still always wanted to be held, but I know for certain that she is being held now.

Jesus’s life was cut short so that he could do his greatest work.  I know Elizabeth was not taken away to accomplish some divine purpose.  Her death is beyond sadness and sense, but I know God can work miracles through tiny babies, through men laying down their lives, and through seven-year-old Ghanaian girls dying.  I don’t know what will come of her death, but I hope, I hope for light to shine in this darkness, just as baby Jesus shined light on the hope to come.

Comments»

1. James - December 22, 2011

Megan,

This was very beautiful and insightful. I had never thought about the birth of Jesus symbolizing something so different than the resurrection, but it does. As you noted, perhaps this is why it is celebrated more than Easter. Easter represents what life will be in the (perhaps distant) future whereas Christmas represents the hope for life now in this present world which is full of sin and death.

You are very blessed in multiple ways, one of them being that you understand the birth of Jesus in ways that I will never be physically able to. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Peace,
James

2. Kathy Jackson - December 22, 2011

It is so nice to read your wonderful thoughts again!!! Quite a tribute to Jesus and Elizabeth with the hope of great things for Henry!!

3. Rebecca Michael Tautenhahn - December 22, 2011

I find myself thinking about the meaning of Christmas more than ever now that I have a son of my own that is going coming into this world someday. I find myself being greatful to God for allowing his son to come to this earth so that we might all be saved by the grace of God on that day we celebrate as Easter. I cant imagen being Mary and being told that my baby boy will die for the sins of the world.

4. Shelby - December 30, 2011

Megan, you amaze me and I am so lucky to have such a wonderful big sister!!!


Leave a Reply

